Spending Money – Entertainment

I’ve been trying really hard to really watch my money, but I’ve noticed that entertainment is draining my bank account very quickly. 

I was checking my e-mail and I discovered quite a few itunes receipts in there.  I’m starting to think that it’s not as great and convenient as I would like it to be.  Sure, I love buying just one song instead of an entire CD…but it’s too often that 1 song turns into 10 songs!  Anyone else have this problem? 

I’m thinking that I’m going to start buying gift cards and not using my credit card to buy anything.  Hopefully it’ll help!

Netflix is another one…I can’t bear to cancel my subscription but the movies I have out now have been sitting on my TV, unwatched, since before Christmas!  I could’ve bought the damn things by now!  Yet, I am afraid to get rid of it and miss the opportunity to get a movie whenever I want.  I don’t have a solution for this yet because I really really do want to keep the subscription.

One thing that I’ve cut waaaaaaay back on is magazine buying.  I realized that I was buying 4ish magazines/month (that’s practically $20 a month on something that I’ll flip through when I’m bored!)  My solution was to subscribe to the ones that I read most and cut down to buying 1 every few months.

Lastly, books, I’m a reader…I will try to read anything that’s suggested to me.  I always have been and I don’t see that changing anytime soon.   I even majored in English Education in college because I love reading so much.  One solution to cut down on the amount of books that I buy is this fabulous website:  www.paperbackswap.com  Basically you pay to ship a book to someone and earn a book credit for each so that you can get books.  If you are interested in signing up, you can use my name as a referral.  Just enter beckm82 when you register.

Although I do still buy books, this has been a great site and I’ve been buying far less.

(I only used in-home entertainment for this post, maybe I will do another one on going out)

Your turn:  What’s your favorite way to save money on entertainment?/What’s your biggest entertainment “money suck”?

Leave a Reply

